Home | Ticket Information | Contact | Reviews

Expect the Extraordinary.

Ashley William Smith, bass clarinet

Clarinetist Ashley William Smith has emerged as one of Australia’s most demanded young musicians. The current Churchill Fellow, he is a laureate of two of Australia’s most prestigious prizes for classical musicians, the 2012 Music Council of Australia Freedman Fellowship and the 2010 ABC Symphony International Young Performer Award winner. Identified as a 'rising star' by the world's leading clarinet manufacturer, he is a Buffet-Crampon Artist. He has performed as a soloist with each of Australia's major orchestras. His Melbourne premiere of the Lindberg Concerto was ranked amongst The Age's Top 5 Classical Performances 2010. In 2013 he made the list again for a solo recital with his duo partner, Aura Go, the Melbourne Recital Centre, which also received the MRC Contemporary Masters Award. In 2014, he is Artist in Residence at the University of Western Australia and has engagements with leading Australian ensembles including the Syzygy Ensemble, the Southern Cross Soloists, the Australia Ensemble, the Australian String Quartet and the Bendigo International Festival of Exploratory music. He shall also appear as a soloist with the West Australian Symphony Orchestra in a new concerto by Lachlan Skipworth. He has performed throughout the USA and Asia including performances with Bang on a Can, the Chamber Music Society of the Lincoln Center, the Kennedy Center and the Beijing Modern Music Festival. At 29, Ashley was appointed as an Assistant Professor at the University of Western Australia, where he is the Head of Winds and Contemporary Performance. Ashley is a Fellow of the Australian National Academy of Music and a graduate of the University of Western Australia where he was awarded the Sir Harold Bailey as the most outstanding graduate of the Faculty Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences and was nominated for the J.A. Wood Prize, the institution's most prestigious honor. He most recently graduated from Master of Music at Yale University under the tutelage of David Shifrin, where he was additionally awarded the Thomas Nyfenger Prize.